Chutney

7 Dec

I was out for a walk with my daughter yesterday night. Now the complex we stay in has lots of vehicular movement all the time. So as we were walking, we had to cross the road, so I decided it was a good time to explain to her about how to cross the road.

Here goes the conversation –

I: The car is coming from the other side, what are you supposed to do?

She: I can run across the road before it comes, I am very fast.

I: No, you are supposed to wait till the car passes and then you cross the road.

She: No Dada, I can run very fast, I can cross it.

Actually the car was far, she could have, but that wasn’t the point, she had to learn the proper way, so we waited for the car to go. And the conversation started again.

She: I can show you I can cross, now you become the car, you come from there and I will run to the other side.

I: OK

So I was the car, she was supposed to run across, obviously I didn’t stand to far, so she runs and I run faster (at the risk of bursting my lungs, seriously it was around 20ft) and I catch her before she crosses.

I: See you can get hurt, so always wait.

She: You are right, car can dash into me.

I: Yes, the car can dash into you.

She: If car dashes than it will chutney of us.

I: Yes

She: Then everyone will dip into us and eat, dosa and chutney, samosa and chutney, bread and chutney, vada and chutney.

I didn’t have my dinner last night.

Leave a comment