scared of sacred

5 Oct

Things we do not understand scare us.

This could be food, culture, new city, new road. Anything that is outside our comfort zone puts us on the defensive and it gets worse when we put  assumptions on our fears. It then becomes reality, a reality to fear, a reality to fight and a reality to hate.

This can be seen best in religion. Even the best at best have a very limited understanding of other religions and for majority, people from other religions could very well have been from a different planet without changing a thing. They are aliens, as we are aliens to them.

I all my life though education is about knowledge, enlightenment, understanding and so said our educators also. I believed them then and I believe them now.

But if so is true why such a divide between state and religion. Why are we not educated about religion in school? Not my religion, all religions. Why don’t they teach me the teachings of Islam, Christianity, Buddhism, Hinduism, Sikhism, or any religion that can influence our daily life, our daily biases, our life today and the life tomorrow.

Only when we will learn about the unknown we would be able to shed our biases, shed our false beliefs and shed our unfounded fears. And the best time to teach is when we are young, developing minds not stunted morons.

If this wish comes true, I can imagine a tomorrow when a hate monger would make a speech from the podium trying to fuel biases and a young 25-year-old would shove that mike where it truly belongs and if he is well built the tent pole might be preferred more by him.

So wake up policy makers, teach not to make better robots but better humans.

2 Responses to “scared of sacred”

  1. sue October 13, 2009 at 10:25 am #

    When I am asked what religion I practice, my answer is:

    I am Hindu, by birth not by choice.
    I almost have a utopian idea about a time when you are born without a religion and you are exposed to your options in school – and at a certain age you are allowed to choose or stay religion less. Would that not increase tolerance in a way… cos you the pros and cons of all?

  2. John Doe October 14, 2009 at 7:26 pm #

    I have a big bamboo tent pole, if anyone needs to borrow for the said purpose. I would be happy to oblige.

    Nice.

Leave a Reply

