I promise to vote

21 Apr

Elections are here and drumbeats are ringing across the country this time from every nook and corner, and sounds emanating from every hole “lets vote. This time you must vote. Your vote counts, your vote will change this country, vote will remove this politician, your vote will change this state, your vote will change this system and your vote will take this country on path of progress, blah this and blah that…..”
 
Bilkul sahai bola bhaisaab/behenji, par mera ek sawaal tha, will this vote also change you; you, the Indian, you the individual. I agree to vote, if along with politicians you, you also promise to change.
 
So raise your hand and say- 
1.      I agree that everything is not controlled by politicians. I agree that we cannot blame politicians for all our ills. Ills damning this country are not their fault but my fault. I am the Indian, who is also a government employee and no one voted me in this position and I chose to be one. Despite that it is I who has been corrupt and lazy and uncommitted to this country and only by individual choice. I could have done my job well but my greed for money & power swayed me from this path. I do not blame the system, as I am the system and politicians have nothing to do with it. If you vote this time I promise to do my job with full sincerity and honesty.
2.      I agree that even after 60 years of independence and getting educated, I am till communal, caste driven and with a parochial mindset. I think my region/religion/caste is the best and every other region/religion/caste  inferior and my enemy. I do not see them as humans and definitely do not trust them. But if you vote I promise not to see them as Hindus or Muslims or Christians or Sikhs or scheduled caste or Brahmins or Bihares or Bengalis or Madrasis or Bhaiyas or anything other than Indians and fellow human beings. I would make opinions based on nothing else except their actions and my decisions would be based on merits and not dictated by any form of kinship.
3.      I, the businessman, who also is not a politician, would not be driven by my gluttony and greed. None of my decision would be based only on the logic of economics and I would look at greater benefits beyond just paper. I would consider society and large and also my environment, my air, my soil, my water…. If you vote this time, I promise I would be wealth creator, wealth distributor & wealth preserver and not a wealth hoarder or wealth destroyer, natural or created.
4.      It is my fault and not dictated by any politician that I as a male, have been a sexist all my life. It is I, who has believed that women are weaker sex, play objects, created for my pleasure, entertainment and service.  It is I, who as a father did not send my daughter to school. It is I, who as father married them off before they turned 18 and ignored their personal ambitions. It is I, who as father gave more importance to my sons and hated my daughters for being girls. It is I, who as husband beat my wife for not giving me a son and made her bear 8 kids to get my heir. It is I, the brother who fought with others for at staring at my sister but raised the skirt in public of someone else sister for fun. It is I, the same brother who refused to give my sister her paternity share of will. It is I, who as a man has made life hell for women by my predatory behavior. It is I, who as a man burned that woman who lost her husband. It is I who has been all this and more and worse. But I promise if you vote this time, I would consider women as equals, human beings and not objects. I would give them equal rights and equal opportunities, as a father, brother, colleague, friend or just as a man.    
5.      It is my fault, as a woman, that I have been treated ill because I let them. But the bigger sin that I have committed is that I let the same happen to my daughter which happened to me. It is I, who believed that I am weak, it is I, who did not fight and it is I who needs to change first before the society changes. If you vote this time, I promise to change myself and change the world with me.
I think this much of change in this election would be enough, must keep some wishes for next election.
So dear voter, if you have this on your personal manifesto and you promise me this, I promise to go through manifestos of all political parties and would try my best to find a right candidate for you with my vote.
Mera Bharat Mahaan.   
3 Responses to “I promise to vote”

  1. sadak chhap April 21, 2009 at 6:44 pm #

    Straight from heart…

  2. Gauri April 24, 2009 at 1:19 pm #

    hitting writing. bitterness, if i may call it so, for the want to exact expression, makes for extra effect in this post.

    wrt to point 1 abt government employees, I must share some incidents.. I had to go to University of Pune because I was late in submitting some attachment / money with my MA form. I was asked to go to the accounts department in the main campus and get it done that day itself, or would have landed in deep trouble.

    The department had writings all over in marathi and english from the head, which read something like this “I direct my staff to be prompt and helpful. All the applications should be dealt with speedily and complaints entertained. If anyone faces any difficulty, feel free to contact me directly.”

    The dept was full of women (another striking feature), who were NOT arrogant, curt or pathetically lazy like most women govt officers I have seen. I was directed to one woman, who after some search on the comp, found the document I was looking for. After a few other swift formalities, I was on my way back. The same dept was extremely prompt in refunding some library fees at the end of my two years course.

    Here in Kolkata, I was first deceived by the looks of the telephone dept. (People were in ganjis!) But they have solved my internet problems with a decent speed. And then, there’s the polio campaign… (But the health workers are paid a pittance)

    All’s not lost, I urge myself to believe from these examples..

  3. John Doe May 22, 2009 at 2:29 pm #

    Most of our peers don’t vote. Ask them why and they will give you some really valid sounding excuses. However I have come to believe that the refusal to vote is not a reaction to the world at large and the situation of the country in particular. It is the refusal to be willing participants in the fate of the nation. If I vote and the shit still hits the fan, I won’t be able to blame others, can I?

Leave a Reply

